CADA NEEDS YOUR HELP!

CADA has entered a purchase agreement to acquire some land at 2810 Summer Grove Drive to be used to house our Adolescent Treatment Program. We feel it is in our adolescent clients' best interest to get them out of downtown Shreveport and into a facility with a little less concrete and lots of grass, trees and fresh air. 
In order to operate the facility there, the property will have to be re-zoned. The Metropolitan Planning Commission has approved the reclassification, but the request now has to go before the City Council for a vote. Some concerned parents from Word of God Academy are circulating a letter encouraging the Summer Grove neighbors to fight this measure because of its close proximity to Word of God Academy. We would like to respectfully ask everyone involved to reconsider and to help us spread the facts about CADA and its Adolescent Treatment Program. Would you please consider contacting your City Council member and asking them to vote in CADA's favor?

Here is contact information for the City Council:

James.Flurry@shreveportla.gov
Willie.Bradford@shreveportla.gov
Jeff.Everson@shreveportla.gov
Oliver.Jenkins@shreveportla.gov
Michael.Corbin@shreveportla.gov
Stephanie.Lynch@shreveportla.gov
Jerry.Bowman@shreveportla.gov

Here are the facts that you can share with him or her:

  • CADA has been bringing healing hope to people struggling with substance use disorders for 60 years.
  • The facility in question is not an adult facility and not a "half-way house." It is a residential facility for children aged 12 - 17 who need care for their substance use disorders in a safe and positive environment.
  • These children will be supervised at all times.
  • CADA's Adolescent Treatment Facility is a CARF Accredited facility with only sixteen children at a time housed there. It is a licensed and regulated residential care facility.
  • During school hours the children under CADA's care are indoors receiving programming, counseling and education. 
  • CADA is a good neighbor that cares about the health and well-being of everyone located in the neighborhood.
  • CADA currently operates a seventy-bed facility with adults and children in a Bossier City residential neighborhood and right next to a Head Start program. In the fifteen or so years it has been in that neighborhood there has not been one security incident.

Will you please contact your City Council member and ask that he or she vote yes to the re-zoning so that CADA can continue helping children with addictive disorders by giving them a future full of hope and promise? Please share this with anyone you can that can help us succeed. Thank you for your support!

helpcada.jpeg